Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Let me first assure you I am not a troll and this is not a flame post. I legitimately am looking for some insight. First time Xterra owner and my X is pitiful in snow, slush and lets not even talk about ice. It is almost scary on anything slick and in 4wd through snow (most we have had so far is 4 or 5 inches) it tends to plow straight when I turn or at best slide. And coming to a stop on fresh unplowed snow is a gamble!

I am running the BF Goodrich All Terrain T/A KO's with the severe weather badge which I upgraded to soon after I bought it - its a 2012 and the tires have less than 4 or 5 months driving on them.

I am not a novice driver - having driven for a living in a past job and I have owned 24 vehicles. My last 5 vehicles have been awd/4wd - Honda Element, Dodge Nitro, Jeep Cherokee and most recently a '10 Wrangler Unlimited. There was a Kia Soul in there for 8 months we don't like to talk about lol.

Al of my 4wd vehicles to date performed much better than my X is. In the Wrangler last year I seldom used 4wd and was fine - and when I did use 4wd it drove and turned as though I was on dry pavement no matter how snowy or slushy it was. Now I know its apples and oranges, and the Jeep has a wider stance - but what am I missing?

Has anyone else experienced handling issues with the KO's?
Has anyone else also owned a Jeep and an Xterra experienced similar?

I definitely don't want to trade the X on another Jeep - its just an all around better vehicle - but I need a little more confidence for driving my 2 hour commute in the rough stuff. I would love to hear how folks running Duratracs are getting around. That's what I ran on my Jeep and it was literally a tank and I gave most of the credit to the tires. On the X I wanted to keep a more traditional look and the KO's got great reviews - but now I am second guessing that and hoping its the tires not the truck.