Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
754 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I've been wandering around this forum for hours upon hours upon hours and have noticed a ton of involvement in tread lightly! I've since become an individual member and want to help out. I'm a member of Circle K International, an international college-based community service organization, from there I'm an executive board officer for the New York District. I know many of our clubs already assist in park and community clean-ups and I don't doubt that those and more would be more than willing to become involved with this program.

What I'm asking is: Does anyone know if there are scheduled events/clean-ups that I could find to get our clubs involved? Who can I talk to to get something like this going, at least to start in the Albany area with my home club of RPI alongside University at Albany, Russel Sage College, and Hudson Valley Community College? If not the extent of New York State and possibly (it could be a long shot but it's worth the try) National/International?

I'm thinking like a once a month clean-up event, maybe even a yearly BIG one to bring the entire District together, possibly even setting up for a future District Large Scale Service Project.

Any help or direction would be great, I'm pretty excited to start getting involved.
:wink-big:

Nick

·
Registered
469 Posts
Wow, no replies to this thread, that is kinda sad. What I can tell you is to find a local 4x4 club. IIRC, there is a New York State-based Xterra club, but the name escapes me. Hopefully, someone from there can chime in. Maybe they don't do any cleanups?? Out in AZ, we try to participate in at least 4 cleanups/yr.

You can also check with your local Parks and Rec department, your local
State Parks office, your local Forest Service office, and your local BLM office. All of these agencies will most likely welcome any volunteer help they can get, as they all are facing budget issues.