Nissan XTerra Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new at all this so please excuse me if I sound like an idiot

I have a 2007 with 192,000 miles on it and it is making the high pitch whine which I've been told is the " timing chain and tensioners" I am reading several posts on the forum, but was wondering what this costs? If you got everything done listed below? I am the second -ish owner ( the lady who owned it let her daughter use it for a year, or something like that) and love it very much. I want to extend the life of the vehicle and am trying learn about modifications to improve performance.

What i have read should be done?

Timing Belt
2 camshaft seals
1 crankshaft seal
Water pump & gasket
Tensioner, tensioner stud, & tensioner spring
Thermostat

Any info is helpful. I appreciate everyone's knowledge with this.

·
Registered
2004 Xterra XE 4WD Auto 3.3L NA V6
1,360 Posts
2007 is a member of the Gen 2 family, model years 2005 - 2015. They use a timing chain, not belt. That might have been a mis-type, but just helping you learn about your new-to-you rig.

I'd ask @Blackberry @RacerXXL @Satito what's up on how many miles before changing the timing chain, and the sound you're hearing.

·
Registered
1,166 Posts
GEN 2
If it is a 2007 then it has a timing chain. Gen 2 is from 2005 through 2012. The chain tensioners on the second gen do wear out and I think there was a problem with premature wear on the earlier gen 2 years that required updated tensioners. The rest of the parts in the timing chain system are generally considered lifetime parts and do not usually require replacement, but during tensioner replacement the timing system components should be inspected while you're in there.

GEN 1