Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm no mechanic, so help me out a little here. Can I install a super-charged 3.3L engine into my 2004 Xterra, without any major mods, when the original was not super-charged? If so, what kind of power will I be gaining? I installed 305s on my 2004 and it's doggy now. Thank you very much!!

·
Administrator
8,601 Posts
The VG33E, naturally aspirated engine, makes 170 HP at the crank. VG33ER, supercharged engine, puts out 210 at the crank. Should just need an ER engine, ECU, and the engine harness.

is it worth it? Ehhh maybe. You will have to start running premium fuel so fuel cost will increase. Me I’d add headers and cams to the E engine and call it good. That’s what I did to mine works for me.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thank you very much for the advice. This is my "rest of my life" rig , so I'm going to buy a spare engine/tranny for when these eventually go out. I've got 250,000 miles on this one. Sounds like the VG33E is going to be my spare. I'm not trying to make a hot rod out of it, but I imagine an overhaul of this one would probably produce results I'm looking for. I also know it seems like the price goes up when I need something NOW and I'll be panicing when I need something for the Xterra.I'm going to plan ahead for a change. Thanks again!!!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The VG33E, naturally aspirated engine, makes 170 HP at the crank. VG33ER, supercharged engine, puts out 210 at the crank. Should just need an ER engine, ECU, and the engine harness.

is it worth it? Ehhh maybe. You will have to start running premium fuel so fuel cost will increase. Me I’d add headers and cams to the E engine and call it good. That’s what I did to mine works for me.