Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Nissan Xterra 2000 SE. After driving for a bit, then stopping, a small amount of white smoke with a burnt odor comes from under the hood briefly. It doesn't seem to be a serious issue, as the oil level isn't dropping fast enough to require supplemental fills between regular oil changes. But I'd rather not have a smoking, smelly vehicle.

So I've had my mechanic check it out when brought in for other repairs. He claims it's oil spilled from repairs burning off, and that it should go away soon. And has been claiming this for several years now.

Today I was able to determine the general area from where the smoke comes. Picture taken from the passenger side of the engine compartment:

I'm no auto mechanic, but something obviously isn't right. There's an oily area here. Most of it's dirty, but at the point marked with A I see some clean amber oil, so I'm guessing this is an active leak. I couldn't see any oil flowing. Perhaps it leaks only when the engine is revved, then periodically drips onto something hot.

B marks a screw mounted in a round rubber gasket. Although it may be hard to see from the photo, this gasket is deformed and oval compared to the others installed around the valve cover (I think that's what it's called), where the gaskets are perfectly round. Except of course at mark C, where the gasket is off the screw entirely!

I'm imagining two scenarios:

1) Oil is leaking strictly from around these faulty screw gaskets. They're damaged or improperly installed, and by just replacing them this could be inexpensively fixed.

2) The gaskets are like this because someone deliberately over-tightened them, in an attempt to solve a larger leak in the main valve cover gasket. And to fix it properly, a more expensive and complex repair would be needed.