Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys. I just bought a 2000 xterra. I am %100 new to 4wd and off roading. Something I've wanted to do for years but just never had the opportunity. Anyway, I've got my x and I need some advice on where to start. It's a 2000 XE 4x4 with 15" rims and about 155k miles on it. I have about $1000 budget to put into it for starters. Anything beyond that will have to wait a while. It needs tires so most of that budget will go there and that's my main question. I've been doing a lot of reading on this forum and a couple others but there is so much information for a complete noob and I'm having a hard time figuring out what would be the right way to go for my needs. This is not my daily ride so I don't need it to be practical really but I'm not made of money. I plan to use this x to pull a smallish (17 ft) travel trailer and do some light to moderate off-roading. I'm not planning to tackle the Rubicon or anything, but I want to be able to handle more than just a dirt road otherwise what's the point?!
I can't afford to buy an expensive set of tires twice so my main question is should I stick with stock ride height and get a good set of 31" or 32" tires or should I go ahead and bite the bullet and put a bit of a lift on it and get bigger tires? Sounds like I can do the PML and a 1.5" SL for relatively cheap to clear bigger tires but I'm just not sure if it's worth it for how I intend to use it.
Any advise would be greatly appreciated!!
Any other advise for a complete noob would also be appreciated!
Thanks guys.

·
Sage Mentor/Moderator
12,216 Posts
The X, out of the box, can already handle fire roads, etc, w/o a problem.

Improvements in off road performance can be made by adding more aggressive tires, say, mud terrains, and making them as large as practical.