Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, thank you to everyone who answers posts with your valuable info! I've got a 2005 Xterra, V6 that was making the death rattle. I decided to tackle this job to save money. I now know why it costs $1600 to replace the timing chain! I replaced all of the tensioners and guides, and installed new primary and secondary chains. Everything lined up nicely. Before I put the cover back on I wanted to verify something. There is a tenth of an inch slack on the primary chain on the engine's left side (the side opposite of the primary chain tensioner). If I rotate the crankshaft, I can see the primary chain tensioner doing it's thing and the slack disappears and will come back as the rotation continues. Is this normal? The slack is just loose enough that the water pump will jump a tooth if you turn it with a lot of pressure. I'm a beginner mechanic, so forgive me if this is a dumb question. Thanks in advance.

Attachments

·
Registered
3,332 Posts
the tensioners are hydaulic and only properly function when the engine is running and hydrualic pressure is applied. i would see if you can get a nissan tech to email you the fsm for the 05 xterra or get a shop to tell you if this slack is normal while the engine is not operating but i beleive it should be since that is the job of the tensioners, to tension the chain. I am not as familiar with timing chains/belts on engines with variable timing such as this engine but i would think there needs to be some slack to allow the tensioners and chain to adjust and variy the valve timing as needed, Satito might know some, he seems very knowlegable but i think more on the 1st gens.

Reactions: Roadie69 and wreedy

·
Registered
1 Posts