Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
03 Xterra se 3.3L rwd
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,

I just got a new to me Xterra first gen. Was sitting for about 5 years, 249Kmiles, no PS, no AC, moss and mold (or w.e) growing on the sides of the car.
NO major rust, just some surface rust thats no big deal. Sadly not 4x4 however I did get it basically free. I rehabilitated the battery and she got the car at least starting again when I got home. Ive been working on nissans for quite a few years so this was pretty much standard lol. Im going to probably start making content for the Xterra on my youtube 350Z Channel.

Z33 Youtube Channel

Car started up with a jump just fine, no timing belt noises. Trans fluid was nice and red, coolant was a bit rusty ish but Im not too surprised with that.

My plan for this car now:

PS- Fixed, pump was somehow not shot, all it needed was the HP hose, the old one was gushing fluid from the top flex hose section.
AC- HP line was missing the shrader valve, amazon came in clutch with the universal valve kit and one of them fit, now I just need to hook it up to my vacuum pump and gauge set and see if it holds vacuum.
Engine- Seems to be in good order, timing belt "might" need changing, I found 1 receipt of the it being serviced ( along with all the seals, WP, etc) when the truck had 117K, perhaps it was done again after 210K ? this I will have to probably address soon. I drove the car home for about 50 miles with ZERO issues, noises. I will be checking plugs, distributor top, and do compression test in the coming days. Engine also needs a clean BADLY due to PS fluid being sprayed on the engine and years of dust.
Cooling- Im dumping the old rad coolant, or water, and adding some new distilled water /coolant to see how it behaves. Due to the age of the radiator I will be bi-passing the rad trans cooler with my rather large Hayden cooler while I see what the status is of the old coolant system.
Suspension -