Nissan XTerra Forum banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Recently picked up a 2001 SE and I am working my way through missing bits and maintenance before doing any upgrades.

The 4WD works nicely, and I am pleased with the clearance and handling.

She's got some rumble and noise on the road, but looks overall clean, outside of the cigarette smoke smell.. blech.

First up on repairs/maintenance is Timing Belt/Water Pump, Plugs. Having a shop do the first two soon. From how the drivechain was maintained I suspect it was done, but since I have no record of it, doing it anyway.

My off road experience dates back to when I was in the Army, 1986-1994, which was mostly woodland with some desert sand for a bit. Drove CUCV pickups (Chevy 3500 Diesel 4x4, nice trucks), CUCV Blazer, HMMWV, M35A2 and an M88A1 mostly when offroad. Had guest appearances from anything else in my unit's inventory at times. I was a mechanic, so they just said.. fix it, whatever it is. Sometimes that meant fixing it on the spot, and driving it to test, sometimes I just got snagged to drive because they knew I was licensed to drive the full inventory we had.

Anyway, great to find this place!

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Maylene? I live in Alabaster!
Sure, I would love to go out with a group into the WMA.
Going to put her in the shop shortly to get the timing belt and water pump replaced, then I am ready to rock it.

·
Registered
175 Posts
It'll be a while for me since I'm across the pond, but I should be home in about a month or so. Probably should have clarified that in the first post. If you don't have a shop you go to or one lined up, go see Bill at The Works on Triple G drive. If you tell him Eric sent you, he'll hook you up. I don't know how mechanically inclined you are, but I worked at O'reilly for about a year and half so if you ever stopped in there you probably talked to me.

·
Registered
62 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·