Nissan XTerra Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to get my 04 Xterra running again after sitting for 2 years in a garage. When I left it it was still running decently besides some undiagnosed issue in one of the cylinders.

Before starting it up again I want to make sure I've gone through everything so I don't end up damaging anything in the process. This is my first time leaving a vehicle this long without starting it.

So far what I've done is:
  • Remove the old coolant and replace with new clean coolant in the reservoir
  • Oil and filter change
  • Clean the throttle body and mass air flow sensor
  • New air filter just for kicks
  • Siphoned out the old fuel and replaced it with new fuel
  • Applied fogger to the cylinders
  • Checked all the spark plugs and wires (damn is that #6 a pain)
  • Replaced the battery with a new one
I wanted to see if anybody had any other suggestions of things to check or do before I try starting it up. This was the first car I learned to work on and has taken me over 300,000 MI so needless to say I want to treat it right!

·
Registered
2003 natural aspirated 3.3
139 Posts
I'd say your doing a pretty good job so far. Have anyone to help or is it all up to you?

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I'd say your doing a pretty good job so far. Have anyone to help or is it all up to you?
Good to hear! Just me. Have had some decent experience with working on cars/trucks since I got this one a long time ago but I know I still have a whole bunch to learn!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
When was the last time the brake fluid was flushed/replaced?
Honestly its been a while.... too long. Just went out and checked and its pretty dark. Ill plan on changing that out with some fresh fluid tomorrow. Thank you!

·
Registered
2004 Xterra XE 4WD Auto 3.3L NA V6
1,469 Posts