Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I've been looking for a good way to wire my new CB radio, found a few diagrams online but haven't seen anything about going through a switch. I'm clueless when it comes to these things so let me know if I'm screwing something up or if there is a better way.

My thoughts are... I don't want to accidentally leave the radio on and have it drain my battery so a lighted switch would be a nice visual reminder to turn it off. I don't really want to splice into other wires (again, I'm new to this and would prefer to not start a fire).

Anyway, like I said, if you have a better idea I'm all ears.
Thanks!!

Attachments

·
Registered
40 Posts
It is easy. Run your lines through a plug in the firewall. Just put in the toggle. Any cb radio (unless very old) has a fused line already. No need for another 1. Also, why would you leave the cb on? It is better to kill it with its own switch than a toggle.

·
Registered
456 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
It is easy. Run your lines through a plug in the firewall. Just put in the toggle. Any cb radio (unless very old) has a fused line already. No need for another 1. Also, why would you leave the cb on? It is better to kill it with its own switch than a toggle.
Well, i might be over thinking it but I've done some research and according to this website,
http://www.cbradiomagazine.com/Jan 2007/CB power wire hookup - battery or cigarette plug.htm I'm supposed to add an additional fuse, near the battery, in the engine bay for safety reasons.