Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

Registered
2002 5 speed 4脳4 SC
Discussion Starter #1
So, out of the blue my 02 4x4 manual transmission, sc has a burnt rubber smell from the hood. I can smell it while driving & of course stronger after popping the hood. No indicator light, oil level fine, not over heating (new radiator install couple months ago), belts seem ok but im still new to fixing cars. [Though I must admit I rather enjoy playing mechanic] Also, the last week its been idling higher than usual upon start up then returns to normal while driving and at rest until shutting it off. Small quiet "ticking" sound too. Not sure if it's a normal engine noise or something more. Please ya'll, some advice would be great. 馃

Registered
2001 Xterra 4WD Auto 3.3L V6
Sounds like a hose or plasticky part has come loose or somehow shifted, or a heat shield isn't doing its job, and now you're plagued with a stinky ride.

Idling higher than usual suggests that the throttle cable is out of place and/or bound up, possibly being the source of the burnt rubber smell or its movement is being affected by it.

The cruise control cable could also be an issue here, as well as the CC canister and rubber hoses.

Being "new to fixing cars", you might wanna find a YT video of a Gen1 SC Xterra to see what things should look like under the hood and then compare it with yours. If you see something different or out of place, it could be helpful to inspect that more thoroughly, or it could just be something the other owner did but has no bearing on your issue.

Probably the biggest thing to keep in mind is that you're looking for stuff that gets hot, so look more closely at those items: heat shield, exhaust manifold, cats, etc. Also, look for parts that are rotating (belts, pulleys, etc.) to see if anything is touching them that shouldn't be.