Nissan XTerra Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I almost pulled the trigger on a diesel jeep liberty, but decided to get and xterra instead. The deciding factors for me personally were the cost of diesel engine parts, the available of those parts, and the liberty being a unibody.

So I picked up a 06 xterra, the door jam stick says the model is TCKZLRN-EUA with trim X. I'm a little confused as to why it would be an S package, but with an X trim label. I bought it in an auction, don't have any info other than the engine runs, sounds fine, shifts into fwd and reverse, and the transmission leaks really bad at the bell housing. 153k miles, no dents or rust, a couple of scratches. Interior is DIRTY, chew and dried spit everywhere, really nasty, but I'll clean that up. aside from that, no cracks or rips. The xfer case shifts from 2wd-4wdhi-4wdlo successfully.

I'm new to nissans, i have a few dodges/jeeps, and understand those quirks and problem areas.

I just did a transmission swap a couple weeks ago on my ram. I'm planning to drop the xterra transmission as I'm guessing the torque converter seal is bad. should I be aware of anything else with this regarding the transmission? I also plan to drop the pan, inspect, replace the filter, and flush the coolant lines.

I have heard of issues with the radiator leaking engine coolant into the transmission side. I don't see any evidence of this right now, but i do see some external corrosion on the radiator around the ports. I am thinking about replacing the radiator. Is there one where they engineeried it to not leak/mix engine and transmission coolants?

After I get this running properly, I will lift it and swap wheels with decent tread when I take it on mountain trails.

·
Registered
2004 Xterra XE 4WD Auto 3.3L NA V6
1,367 Posts
I haven't any info for you, but congratulations on the find!

·
Registered
03 XE A/T, SC coming soon
1,324 Posts