Nissan XTerra Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It started annoying me at about 70k, i have the 6sp manual, 2wd.

I am about to do my chain, sometime this week. I am a mechanic for BMW/Mini cooper, with about 3 years in a shop. Have basically no engine knowledge of the VQ-40 other than its a beeast.

I found links to the OEM factory manual which i will familiarize myself with before I start.

Im using the nissan parts "kit" for it from my local dealer. Just looking for some common tips/good things to know before hand if
anyone has their 2cents to toss in.
I watched a couple youtube videos and what not.
Im planning on doing all the rails, guides, chain, tensioner, going to do my belt and plugs while I'm in there. I will be doing it on a lift.

Any other recommended parts to replace while I'm in it?

I was looking on here and newx.org for any good detail write ups, and almost all the ones i have found have bad links for the pictures, so they are quite a bit less helpful.

Any input appreciated!
cheers,

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
oil in spark plug tube!

So on the left rear plug i found a small amount of oil on the bottom of the coil and some oil sitting on the plug, looking at the seal in the valve cover it looks like there is oil on top of it, so I am assuming the oil came from the valve cover, not from the spark tube/head seal.

The fix appears to be a new valve cover seeing as the oring in the cover does not appear to be serviceable. Is that correct ?

·
Registered
6 Posts
Valve covers are quite common for leaking tube seals on the VQs. Timing marks on the secondary chains are easy; match dots to the chain links on one of the banks, and the dashes for the other bank.

Get a caulk gun an dbuy a tube of RTV silicon from Nissan, it's the best and easiest stuff to use.