Nissan XTerra Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a 2000 Xterra- manual trans, 180,000 miles for my son about 1.5 years ago.

I have no idea when the last time was that the timing belt was changed.
The previous owner had it for 6 years, and my son now had it for 1.5 years.

Is there a way I can remove the cover and look at it and tell what kind of condition it is in and how much longer I can go?

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also, I am thinking about my son and I just go ahead and replace it, so it's good for another 100,000 miles or 5-6 years. But I have never done this before.
I can work on cars from 1977- 2005 - brakes, water pumps, starters, calipers, Master cylinders,and changed a clutch on a 77 Ford pick up, fuel pump, etc..
but never opened an engine or transmission.

I did see a few videos and am tempted to give it a try. $75 for a kit versus $600-700 at the shop. If I make a mistake and the teeth are off 1 or 2 spaces, will I damage the valves or anything?
Say I make a mistake and it backfires or something is not right, can I simply remove the cover and check the alignments and correct it without having to take everything apart again?

·
Registered
621 Posts
When you pull the cover off mark the cog wheels on your new belt. And im not sure how many but there should be x amount of teeth between the marks, Its not too hard.

·
Registered
355 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Ok, I'd like to compare jobs....

Is it harder to take off the upper intake plenum or to change a timing belt? I did my first valve cover gasket replacement, which requires taking the upper intake off. While that was not fun, I would do it again just to save $500.

·
Registered
621 Posts