Nexus 7 Tablet Built-In - Nissan Xterra Forum

post #1 of 28 Old 11-14-2012, 09:58 AM Thread Starter
chjade84

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
chjade84 is on a distinguished road
Nexus 7 Tablet Built-In

How does it look? (Be gentle, it's my first time using fiberglass and second time using body filler.)

Using Wi-Fi tethering on my phone I have Spotify Premium for commercial free radio and on-demand access to almost any song/album on the planet ($10/mo), TuneIn in order to listen to any live radio station in the country (world, too?) for free, GPS and navigation using Google Maps - including voice command, and of course general internet and other apps. I even have one that uses a Bluetooth OBDII dongle to get live ECU data/codes.

Parts list:
-Spare dash to modify ($65)
-Nexus 7 ($200)
-Alpine 4 channel amp ($135)
-Potentiometers and knobs ($25)
-Relay and assorted electronics ($25?)
-Misc fiberglass, body filler, hardware ($100?)

Total: $550-ish?

I started taking build pictures but there were a lot more than I was expecting. If there's interest though I can put some together. I kept everything able to be reverted to stock should the need arise. It took several weeks of trial and error to get finished but it works great. The Alpine amp even sounds better than the old head unit.

Last edited by chjade84; 11-16-2012 at 07:11 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 28 Old 11-14-2012, 10:25 AM
Revu
Addict

2005 Xterra
Revu will become famous soon enough
Dude that is sweet!

I got all excited and started rambling about all the cool stuff that thing could possibly do without realizing you already have listed that you set it all up for it already! Music, Internet Radio, Navigation, ODB2 Sensor, everything's there! It's beautiful! Do want!

I've gotta forward this to all my techy buddies, they're gonna love it! Thanks a lot for sharing!

Keep us, and definitely me, posted on how that works out for you!
2005 Xterra