Roof rack build with a twist~ Thank you Graveyard Graphics - Nissan Xterra Forum

#1 Old 11-11-2012, 10:48 AM
lddfarms

2001 Xterra
lddfarms is on a distinguished road
Talking Roof rack build with a twist~ Thank you Graveyard Graphics

Let me say that I'm new to X's and being able to modify for fun. I'm a farm gal that use to drive nothing smaller than an F-350. A few months ago I downsized to an Xterra and haven't looked back.

Meet my little rig: Matchbox. I'm starting off with something easy and work my way up. All of the plastics were faded and the bars well oxidzed, stickers peeling the whole works. I spent quite a bit of time researching what everyone else has done, products used and results. Many thanks to all of you who have posted in the DYI and GraveyardGraphics.com.

My first step was to contact Todd at Graveyard Graphics for my stickers. I wasn't happy with the grey on grey thing that Nissan had done and I wanted something a bit brighter and eye catching. I know the poor man thought I was crazy with my request, but hey, I'm a red head, I like to try things outside of the box so to speak. Todd made some great suggestions and stickers were on the way ASAP!

Last weekend I removed the rack and got it cleaned up. The bars were hand sanded to the metal and wiped with acetone. They were so oxidzed I knew if I didn't sand to the metal I'd have to be re-doing this project later. The plastics were just a rub down with the acetone. I then primed with the Dupli-Color Adhesion promoter for the plastics and self-etching primer for the bars. I wanted to go with a flat gray on the bars, however, my NAPA store didn't carry a bumper paint in grey any and I didn't want to wait for the next shipment. I went to wal-nut world and found a metal hammered finish grey that I liked much better.