Stereo whine, help! - Nissan Xterra Forum

#1 Old 02-02-2012, 10:26 PM
LuvMyDux
Seasoned

2003 Xterra
LuvMyDux is on a distinguished road
Stereo whine, help!

Ok, here's the deal, I've been at this for 5 straight nights but still no resolution...

Got this DVD player for Xmas and finally got around to installing it http://www.sonicelectronix.com/item_43737_Pyle-PLDN74BTI.html?utm_source=google&utm_medium=cpc&ut m_campaign=product_ads&utm_content=pla&utm_term={k eyword}&gclid=CL2_6ZKGga4CFacbQgodW1Aa3g

I'm not a professional audio guy but I have installed quite a few stereo systems in my years, my own cars and friends. My issue is that I cannot get rid of this stupid alternator whine. It is not noticeable until I hit 2700RPMs and above.

I have tried 2 different harness, 4 different ground locations to bare metal, a couple Radio Shack "snap core choke" things and even re-wired all the speakers to run to the deck. I am not using the factory Fosgate amp, I unplugged it and pulled the fuse. I even tried a ground loop isolator. I'm so mad right now and I'm about to just say F this and put the factory deck back in. What is the issue here, is it that this brand deck is that bad? So, what do you guys suggest?
2003 Xterra
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

#2 Old 02-03-2012, 06:32 AM
Ricel
Phreak

2002 Xterra
Ricel has a spectacular aura about them Ricel has a spectacular aura about them
You hooking up an aftermarket amp at all?

-Curt
2002 Black Xterra SE 4x4

Build Thread
:Lets just say its getting to be an expensive mod list:

Quote:
Originally Posted by J Everett View Post
I'd rather attempt to put together a 5000 piece puzzle of nothing but blackness than set the pinion lash on a Dana diff.
2002 Xterra
#3 Old 02-03-2012, 07:46 AM
LuvMyDux
Seasoned

2003 Xterra
No amps yet, was going to get new amp and sub but if I can't resolve this noise then I'm putting the factory Fosgate deck and sub back in.
2003 Xterra
#4 Old 02-03-2012, 08:07 AM
modxterra
Addict

2004 Xterra