Nissan XTerra Forum banner

Suspension Lift Question

2K views 5 replies 2 participants last post by  TJTJ 
#1 ·
I'll be lifting my 2007 Xterra S (Title says it's an X but the dealer says it's an S) soon and I have a question. I'd like to lift it enough to the point where I don't have to remount the transfer case or modify the driveline. Does anybody know the max lift I can put on it without having to do any of those drivetrain modifications? I'm pretty new to this so I'm trying to figure it out. Thanks.

#2 ·
Those are JEEP problems due to short drive shafts....not Xterra problems typically.

The issues are MORE related to the IFS, and that as you lift, the two front tires are essentially swinging inwards and down to compensate.

How high did you want to lift, and, as it matters as far as options go, what is your objective in lifting?

If its to look taller in the mall parking lot, or, to mount larger tires, or, to off road with on uneven terrain, etc, these are all DIFFERENT lift options, etc.

:D

#3 ·
Thanks for your response. I want to lift it because I keep taking it camping/off-roading, etc and I find I don't have enough clearance to go where I want. I'm not sure yet how high I want to lift it. I don't really care about the parking lot appeal. I'm lifting it more for utility than anything.

I am also planning on putting bigger tires on once I lift it. Any idea of a good combo to put together on lift and wheel size? I could use a good recommendation on lift kits and tire sizes. I probably wouldn't go any higher than 4" total.

#4 · (Edited)
Thanks for your response. I want to lift it because I keep taking it camping/off-roading, etc and I find I don't have enough clearance to go where I want. I'm not sure yet how high I want to lift it. I don't really care about the parking lot appeal. I'm lifting it more for utility than anything.