AC High Pressure Hose [Archive] - Nissan Xterra Forum

: AC High Pressure Hose


wandoriver87
03-20-2010, 06:47 PM
Hey guys, just had the timing belt replaced today and I have to tell you I feel much more comfortable driving the distance with my "x". On the road alot...purrs like a kitten now. Next question, my high pressure hose is leaking and I have to replace it in preparation for our hot summer months in the south. Can I replace it and then have shop load oil and charge without any damage being done until I get it to the shop. Thanks for all you help guys..looking to keep her a long, long time...this great truck for my son...he's a few years off however..:wink-big:

dejablue
03-20-2010, 07:09 PM
yes but you also need to buy the dryer any time you open the line and let ambient air in side the system you need to replace it . its job is to remove moister and any containment from the system .

wandoriver87
03-20-2010, 07:14 PM
I've heard that if you vaccum high line on front firewall and then charge it works fine. Thanks.

dejablue
03-20-2010, 07:26 PM
yes you are right but there no way to get the moister out the line that why the factory puts the dryer there in the first place to dry the air in the line and when you open the line you let humidity in and the old dryer is toast its a one time use and you want the air to be cold then this is must. the more moister in the line the less the air is cold . http://www.courtesyparts.com/kb_search_result.php?keywords=[27640]+\%28WD22&cPath=532_14_53_100

dejablue
03-20-2010, 07:31 PM
try this http://www.courtesyparts.com/kb_search_result.php?keywords=[27640]+\%28wd22&cPath=532_14_53_100 sorry the link doesnt work

dejablue
03-20-2010, 07:37 PM
the part #27640 and the 71.61usd

2001X
03-24-2010, 10:52 AM
dejablue...you're shittin' right? Each time you open up the system the dryer needs to be replaced? So does that mean eachtime the high line hose gets replaced they replace the dryer too? Because my high line needs to be replaced because of a leak and I was going to do it myself and then take it somewhere to get the system charged. Was going to actually get a new fitting put on the hose and reinstall then have the system charged. Should I do it this way or do you suggest another? Thxs

dejablue
03-24-2010, 11:13 AM
yes any time the system is completely opened up ,you need a new dryer. your plan is good and if you have no other leaks you have some really cold air.

dejablue
03-24-2010, 11:20 AM
putting a new fitting on a old hose does not last long . i know that hose is not cheep but if you want to fix it and forget it go for the new hose.

2001X
03-25-2010, 07:11 AM
d...thanks for the advice. One more thing (see if you know this), for about a year I have been driving around with no 134 in my AC system. Do to the wonderful weather we had this year in Jersey I have had to run the defroster (A/C runs at this time) to keep windows clear of ice. Question...do you think that the compressor has been harmed in anyway. I now need to buy the High pressure hose and the dryer. I wanted to make sure I go everything I needed to do the job right. Oh...another thing have you or anyone else heard of this "Thermal Control Amplifier" unit that sits behind the glove box? Appearently this aides in how cold the cabin gets and how often the compressor cylces (check this out). http://www.nissanfrontier.org/forum_posts.asp?TID=2509&PN=1&TPN=2

~ Shawn

wandoriver87
03-29-2010, 04:29 PM
Where do I find the dryer on the truck and it's the rubber line under the compressor that's leaking...I called:aufkopfhauen-big: nissan today it's like $60.00. What's the going rate on the dryer man....thanks in advance.

2001X
03-29-2010, 08:20 PM
Follow this link...should help you with anything you need for the AC. Dryer price is like $74 plus shipping.

http://www.courtesyparts.com/xterra-parts-wd22-2000-2004/genuine-nissan-parts/body-electrical/276-a/c-condensor-liquid-tank/-c-532_14_53_100.html

2001X
03-29-2010, 08:23 PM
Oh...on the schematic it is called a "tank assembly liquid" - aka dryer. The part number is 27640. After you click on the image it will take you to another window telling you it is the dryer.

dejablue
03-29-2010, 08:41 PM
the dryer is mounted behind the grill ,it would probably be easier to remove the grill to give you a easy work space to get at it.